History of Little Athletics Australia

Little Athletics evolved, like most voluntary community organisations, through the mind and conscience of one man. Trevor Billingham followed the pattern set by many pioneers in the field of community service – he recognised a need and introduced an idea designed to meet that need.

On an October day in 1963 three boys turned up at an athletics meeting in Geelong, Victoria. They were ready to compete. On approaching an official they were told that they were too young to take part. That official was Trevor Billingham.

The disappointment, evident in the boys, left a marked impression on his mind.

The thought was forgotten; it came alive again several months later. At a coaching clinic designed for secondary school students it was noted that the majority of children were of primary school age.

Reminded of his earlier experience, Trevor Billingham had an idea. The answer to the need expressed in the children would be a simple Saturday morning competition.

On the first Saturday of October 1964, he met with a small group of children on a Geelong oval. They took part in a short program of running events.

From that simple beginning, athletics for under 12 boys and girls developed at a phenomenal rate. Little Athletics created tremendous interest; by 1967 the Victorian Little Athletics Association was formed.

Australian Little Athletics Union was formed in Perth on the 31st March 1972.

Victoria, New South Wales, Northern Territory & Western Australia were the founding members.

South Australia, Queensland & Australian Capital Territory joined in the 1973/74 season

Tasmania joined in the 1974/75 season.

The first Executive members of the Australian Little Athletics Union were:

  • Bruce McKenzie, President
  • Alan Triscott, Secretary/Treasurer.

Australian Little Athletics Union became Australian Little Athletics (ALA) during the 1992/93 season.

In 2008/2009 season there were approx 98,000 Little Athletes competing throughout Australia on a regular basis, and in the 2012/13 season, over 104,000 Little Athletes participated across the country.

Presidents – Australian Little Athletics

1972-1974         Bruce McKenzie

1974-1976         Robert Quail

1976-1980         William Tucker

1980-1984         Greg Adams

1984-1988         Mal Hastie

1988-1990         John Guerra

1990-1994         George Harvey

1994-1996         Michael Cassar

1996-2000         Dave Cramer

2000-2006         Majorie McNamara

2006-2012         Ross Burridge

2012-2018         Dereck Fineberg

2018-Present     Andrew Pryor